the abominable running woman

Regular readers of this blog will know that one of my (many) new year resolutions was to start running and get fit. I’ve been using the couch 2 5k app, and have managed to progress to week 4 alive, red faced and out of breath. All signs of someone in good health I assume.

Before I started running, I asked a good friend what were the basic things I would need to start off. I followed her advice and found myself armed with a good pair of shoes, some sports bras and a couple of track pants. I decided to forgo fancy running gear. I’d spent enough on the shoes, and since I wasn’t sure how long I’d be running, I figured it made sense not to spend another small fortune on the rest of my kit.

As a result, most days, I head out running looking like this.

The loose, black jogger pants with the white stripe is a nod to a time when workout gear was meant to hide one’s flaws and doubled as clothes to watch daytime talk shows in (“You are my baby’s father” “No I’m not” “Yes you are” “No am not ho” “Don’t you call me a ho, your mama a ho” and so on).

The red fleece is to warn people a few miles off that a crazy person is going to hurtle right in to them if they don’t get out of the way.

The white beanie is a souvenir from Switzerland and says “Schilthorn piz gloria” so that people know that I have witnessed the glory of the Schilthorn mountains. It also keeps my head warm.

And the gloves add a touch of whimsy to the whole outfit. They say, yes, I am a dedicated runner. But I’m still a fun person.

I call this look bag lady chic.
People who see me gracefully sprint by, often give me worried looks. Perhaps it’s because they think I’m being chased by the bag lady mob who are angry at me for stealing their trolleys filled with plastic bags.

(cross posted at http://www.runningranis.wordpress.com)

3 thoughts on “the abominable running woman

  1. more than a bag lady you look like a rapper running riot, but a funky rapper running riot!

    Run lady run. We cheer you on online.

Leave a Reply

