i’m it

So I’ve been tagged by Sur to write five things about motherhood that i love. I have some simple tag rules. I only do them if a) I can’t think of much else to blog about (pliss to see my previous posts about my bird collection. What was I thinking?) and b) if I can’t bring myself to say no to the tagger. And even though I’ve never met Sur, I think she’s lovely and hence I shall oblige.

Guys, you need to post 5 things that you love about being a mom/dad) and find someone to link to and tag – someone from your own country, if you like, but definitely someone from another country ..and to leave a link to the post at HBM, who started this tag.

Now I thought about this long and hard. Actually I haven’t. This post will be written in the time it take for my face pack to harden. Here are my top five.

1. I no longer need an alarm. I have a loud, rather effective one that wakes me up every morning. It’s not the most reliable clock since it can go off any time between 4 am and 6 am. Also it doesn’t shut up when I hit it on the head. And there’s no snooze function. And if the crying doesn’t wake me up the smell sure does. I am planning to put this clock up on freecycle. Anyone interested?

2. I like that all mysterious stains on my clothes are blamed on my son’s snot. When actually they’re the result of clandestine trips to the fridge to eat chocolate suace and strawberry jam straight from the jar. Not together. Ok, sometimes together. Ok, ok. Always together.

3. Thanks to my fortnightly column I get to hear from some really lovely people. Like Mr. S Sakthi from Tamil Nadu. This is what he had to say after my last piece.

Hai,
I am Sakthi from Tamilnadu, I went through u article in “The New Indian Express” dated on 04/04/2009. U considering Motherhood as a job without any payment. It’s amazing as since u consider motherhood as work. When we speak about life, sacrifice is part of it. U mother might have sacrificed many things for u. It’s u duty to sacrifice u freedom for u son. U know the real consequence, which u r going to face, once u have a child. Then, why u put yourself into something, which u don’t like. I am totally unhappy with u point of view. It puts some bad impression on u. I feel u should think twice, before u write something. I hope, u wont consider u son as a non-paying employer.
by
S.Sakthi

5. I also love that our house as a constant supply of baby puddings. We keep buying Ella’s Kitchen strawberries and cream and I don’t think even a spoonful of it has reached my son’s mouth. Ditto for baby biscuits. And babybel cheese. We do feed our son with whatever’s left over. When I remember to.

So there. I really wanted to see if I was capable of writing a nice heartfelt post on motherhood. Clearly I am not.

dsc02200

Updated to add

I just realised I’m supposed to tag other mothers. I think every mother known to blog has already been tagged. I have no one left. Does this mean I’m cursed or something for breaking the chain? Does this mean a one legged unicorn in wonderland is not going to get the other three legs he was waiting for? Ah. Who cares. If you are a parent and blog and have not been tagged please consider yourself tagged on reading this post. If you don’t, it will be your fault that poor Uno the Unicorn is dragging his sorry ass around on one leg.

Updated to add:

Hey hey what’s with all the counting? Shoo… I can only think of four things. now go away.

Updated to add: again!

In response to Boo’s request, here is another charming missive I recieved some time ago

Hey Menaka,
I read your article which was published yesterday in the Indian express. I am sorry to say I totally disagree with that. It is a mothers responsibility to take care of her child and if you did not want to do that you should not have got one. Moreover, your point on slutty bras, most girlfriends seem to enjoy it and I don’t think men can read minds. If you want something else tell your husband when he asks instead of telling him anything you want.Your son is too small to get you anything for mothers day so too bad you just have to wait till he grows up enough to get you something.Your husband must get you something for womens day and valentines day not mother’s day. I understand you are from London and your mindset must be such but you are still Indian and I wish you would retain some of those characteristics with you.If i interpreted any of your writings wrongly please forgive me and i would appreciate it if you would reply o this mail clearing any misconceptions I have.I again apologize if I have been offensive in any way.
Thank you

12 thoughts on “i’m it

  1. Long time reader…not so frequent commenter..

    I am also from Tamilnadu and find it utmost distressing that you will unfortunately not keep up the fine tradition of Tamil mothers who double up as kanaku teachers for their children if you cant count yourself..

    5 does not come after 3…there is the small matter of 4 in between…so please to give us another gem!

  2. “…I understand you are from London and your mindset must be such but you are still Indian and I wish you would retain some of those characteristics with you…”

    lol!! 😀 what happens when i am from india and i am an indian and i still have the same ‘mindset’? tch tch…

    please keep posting the letters 😉 they made my day too.

  3. “…I understand you are from London and your mindset must be such but you are still Indian and I wish you would retain some of those characteristics with you…”

    lol!! 😀 what happens when i am from india and i am an indian and i still have the same ‘mindset’? tch tch…

    please keep posting the letters 😉 they made my day too.

  4. “The Story of Barack Obama’s Mother”
    Possibly related post? (automatically generated) ???

    And i missed the missing 4 -but loved the second letter as bonus for not asking about the missing 4

Leave a Reply

